Sea of Forgetfulness

Last night as I was sitting outside looking up at the stars, I suddenly felt as if the vast sky above me was the Sea of Forgetfulness.  Imagine there being a sea, a very large sea, that one could visit, but could never go into.  At the edge of this sea would be a big sign that read, “No wading;” “No swimming;” “No boating;” “No skiing;” and most importantly, “No fishing.”  One could only look out over the calm, peaceful sea, but never, never immerse into its waters.

You might ask, “Why can people only look at the Sea but not wade into its waters?”  Because this particular Sea is where God places all of our confessed sins, iniquities, and transgressions.  And, once God has placed them into the Sea, He remembers them no more, and he wants us to remember them no more, as well.

“He (God) will turn again, he will have compassion upon us; he will subdue our iniquities; and thou will cast all their sins into the depths of the sea.” (Micah 7:19)

The prophet Micah knew a whole lot about sin.  He lived and prophesied during one of Israel’s darkest times.  The kingdom was divided into the Northern and Southern sections with Samaria as the capital of the northern kingdom and Judah as the capital of the southern kingdom.  Because of the sin of idolatry and Baal worship, God allowed the powerful forces of the Assyrian armies to march in and destroy much of the northern kingdom.  Micah knew that if Judah, the southern kingdom under the wicked rule of King Ahaz, did not repent of her sins that she, too, would see the fierce wrath of God brought upon her land, as well. For God is no respecter of persons; He is a just God.  So, Micah preached repentance.

However, God does not punish His people just for the sake of punishing them.  He brings forth punishment as a way of correction and redirection back to the ways of God; back to obedience.  I remember as a child that my earthy father would tell me after he had spanked me for some wrong I had committed, that the only reason he had spanked me was because he loved me and wanted me to grow up knowing how to make the right choices in life.  In other words, his way of correcting me was to enforce a sense of right and wrong into my life.  Oh, how we need more dads and mothers today who are not afraid to instill the sense of right and wrong into the hearts and lives of their children!  And, sometimes the fastest way to a child’s heart is through their little behind! (I’m not referring to beating a child; I’m talking about a good old-fashioned spanking on the backside of the britches!)

The prophet Micah also encouraged the people of Judah that God is a merciful God who would forgive their iniquities and remember them no more; if only they would repent and turn away from their sins.  In a way to better demonstrate God’s mercy and forgiveness, Micah writes, “He (God) will turn again, he will have compassion upon us; he will subdue our iniquities; and thou will cast all their sins into the depths of the sea.” (Micah 7:19)  Thus, theologians from this passage of Scripture have coined the term, “Sea of Forgetfulness.”

I don’t know about you, but there are times in my life when I need to be reminded of God’s eternal assurance to forgive and to forget all of my wrongs, sins, and iniquities when I confess and repent.  As I was sitting out under the stars last night, I imagined standing alongside of this great and merciful sea and as the Blood of Christ Jesus covered each of my confessed sins, God would then take the covered sins and cast them into the Sea never more to be remembered.  I could just hear the “ger-bunk” of each sin hitting the waters drifting downward; farther and farther out of sight and out of reach.  Amen.

Thank goodness, no one, not even Satan, can enter into this particular sea to dig up or drag up my confessed sins or your confessed sins.  They are cast into the sweet waters of Grace and Forgiveness never more to be remembered!

Who would want to swim in a Sea of Sin?  Or, go fishing in a Sea of Sin?  That’s a good question.  I actually believe there are people out there living their lives in such a way that it’s as if they are engulfed by a sea filled with sins!  God have mercy.  Thanks be unto Jesus, I don’t have to be one of those individuals struggling to survive in a sea filled with iniquities and sins.  I live on the peaceful shores of Grace and Mercy!

Now, here is one more thing that the Bible says about the sea.  It is found in the Book of Revelation, chapter 21, verse 1,  “And I, (John the Revelator) saw a new heaven and a new earth: for the first heaven and the first earth were passed away; and there was no more sea.”  Did you see that?? No more sea!  There won’t be any need for the sea in our renewed earth for the “curse of sin” will be gone!  And, the sea that once held our sin is also past and gone, as well!  Since the sea will be forever gone…this means that our sins will be forever gone!  Now, that’s something to shout about this morning!  Hallelujah!

So, if you are battling Satan’s attacks on your mind regarding past confessed sins and wrongs…take in a deep breath and Praise God for Micah 7:19; “thou wilt cast all their sins into the depths of the sea.”  The Sea of Forgetfulness.  And, strongly and confidently remind Satan that no one can “wade;” “swim,” “ski,” “boat;” or “fish” in the graceful waters of God’s mercies.

Today, I am so thankful and filled with joy and happiness for a loving, merciful, and kind God who is more willing to forgive and to forget my sins and wrong-doings than I am to confess them.

“What a fellowship; what a joy divine; Leaning on the everlasting arms.  What a blessedness, what a peace is mine, Leaning on the Everlasting arms.”  (Red Back Hymnal, copywright 1951, page 359).

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

