A Little Diet Will Do!

I’m switching things up a little bit this morning and writing more
about the physical nature of man. Still, I am praying that as I share my
family’s current dieting adventure that it will bring a smile to your face as
perhaps you can relate to our newfound plight as well.  (Laughter is medicine for the soul!)

If any of you read my Facebook site, you know that I have been
supporting my husband (age 60) this past month with his new diet and exercise
program to lose about twenty pounds and help to lower his cholesterol and triglycerides.
Buying groceries is now taking forever as I walk up and down aisles reading and
comparing labels; which products have the least calories, saturated fats, and
sodium. The final cost of groceries has also increased since everything that is
labeled “fat-free,” “reduced fat,” or “lower fat”
is priced higher than the good old fat-filled stuff!

Then, there are the added fruits and fresh vegetables to the menu.
Mind you, we’ve always eaten fruits and vegetables, but now they seem to be the
more focused food group; so naturally they are costing more. A mere five pounds
of Granny Smith apples are nearly $4.00. Good grief, what I would give for the
old apple tree in my neighbor’s back yard when I was a kid growing up! I’d make
myself a fortune!

My mid-morning snack of PopTarts has been replaced with Granola
Bars. Bacon (yum!) has been replaced with a daily portion of oatmeal and hot
dogs are now turkey dogs (which actually taste pretty good!).  Ice cream has
been replaced with fruity yogurt; but there are some pretty good yogurt out
there, and loaf bread has been replaced with tortillas; thus, making sandwiches
turn into wraps (also, pretty tasty).  Not all bad.

Honestly, I have to ask myself, how on earth did my grandparents
live to be in their 80’s and 90’s eating all of that fried chicken, fried pork
chops, fried country steak with mounds of gravy, deep-fried fish with lots of
hush puppies, deep-fried okra, deep-fried squash, deep-fried potatoes (yum-yum)??….STOP!!
I’m starting to get really hungry here!  I mean, I am from the south, you know!

Last night, my husband told me he’d eat a bucket of chicken as big
as he was! So would I!! And, Ladies, I have been so, so good….the only
chocolate I have eaten in a month are the tiny bits found in my Granola bars!!!
This is insane….I want a BIG slice of chocolate cake covered in chocolate icing with
chocolate sprinkles and chocolate syrup on top!!! CHOCOLATE….Lots and Lots of
Chocolate!!!

As I mentioned earlier, I don’t think our grandparents (or even
parents) went around starving themselves, eating healthy snacks every two to three
hours, drinking bottled water (but, Gosh! We have to today!),  comparing packaging labels (especially since they didn’t have packaging labels on homemade jams and jellies!), or eating everything grilled and broiled…Since all they had were deep frying pans in
the first place!  Oh, the joys of southern living….

But, there is one thing my grandmother did instill in her children
(and, she lived to be 98 years old). She (truthfully!) ate an apple every day.
She read from the Word of God every day. She never ate white bread only
whole-wheat and she believed till the end that liver and onions would cure any
condition you could ever have! (I love you Grandmother, now resting in Heaven,
but I never did buy into your liver philosophy!)

Nevertheless, there’s an old adage that says, “What goes around comes around.” The Bible even teaches, “There’s nothing new under the sun.” So, I wonder if down the road nutritionists and scientists will one day say, “Trans fats can be good for you.” Or, “Fried foods and chocolate are good for brain power.” LOL!   Who knows!

So, with just about everything else in life….I feel that moderation is the key to a more complete and healthier life style. Not obsessing….just enjoying a life of sound moderation.  “Rejoice in the Lord always; and again I say, Rejoice. Let your moderation be known unto all men.” (Philippians 4:4-5 KJV)  In other words, walking and living an even keel life in Christ Jesus.

So, in closing, what has been the result of our new, healthier life style? My husband has already loss ten pounds. Yea! Congratulations!!  Me, I loss one pound but regained 1/2 pound of that back!!

But, to help demonstrate my love and concern for my husband and his health, I will continue steadfastly and focused on our new diet and exercise program….After all, it’s what the doctor ordered! (For him!!) Now, where did I hide that Hershey’s bar??!!

Smile…

Remember, God loves you!!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

One thought on “A Little Diet Will Do!

  1. Linda,
    I absolutely love your blog! Very inspirational, as well as, funny. I will make them a part of my daily routine. Thanks so much for sharing. ~Annette

Leave a Reply

