Enemies

Enemies…We all Have Them…But, we sometimes don’t recognize them, because they come to us in sheep clothing.  You know the kind.  Those who are sweet and very kind to our face; yet inwardly they are ravishing wolves.  Sadly, these type of people can enter into our lives through various ways.  Also, even more sadly is that these people can mimic friendship and trust only to have them turn out to be anything but a friend, and trust is not even in their vocabulary.  Now, you might be asking yourself why on Earth am I talking about enemies; after all, there are at least a dozen or more things that I could be typing about this morning.  Yet, as I sat down to my computer, God directed me to the Book of Psalms, chapter 54, verse 7, “For He (God) hath delivered me out of ALL trouble; and mine eye hath seen HIS desire upon mine enemies.”

Notice, King David did not write, “My eye hath seen MY desire upon mine enemies.”  I hope not. Most of us would rather execute major punishment, retaliate (eye for an eye; tooth for a tooth), and inflict pain immediately rather than wait on God to take care of the matter.  It takes a lot of trust and faith in God to wait in such matters and allow Him to judge those who have inflicted hurt and pain upon our lives through their own various means, schemes, resources, and opportunities.  Oh, how well I have endured such attacks down through the years as both a Pastor’s wife and Christian.  Nonetheless, as far as that goes…from just being a human being!  We all have in one way or another suffered through someone’s unfair attack upon our lives, spirit, and peace of mind.

This morning, you might be dealing with a situation or matter where someone is trying their very best to bring you down, destroy you, harm you, or return unto you evil for good.  If so, take the advice and example of King David.  Let God deal with the matter and with that person or group of people.  Patience is a virtue; especially when dealing with people who have brought harm to you either through deed or tongue; most of the time it is through the tongue that our enemies come at us.  O, the waggling tongue! Lord, have mercy!!

Believe me when I say that I have personally seen God move in and upon the lives of those people who have meant harm to both me and my family down through the years.  I have seen Him show His mercies; and I have seen him bring forth fierce wrath upon their lives.  Sadly, I have also seen where I have stepped in too quickly in order to “fix” things and have made the matter or situation far more worse.  I would much rather let God “fix” it than me! 

So, today, let’s put all of our painful situations into the Hands of a living and merciful God; after all, wouldn’t we want mercy if the shoe were on the other foot?

“As for me, I will call upon God; and the Lord shall save me.” Amen.  “For God shall hear, and afflict them.” Amen. “He hath delivered my soul in peace from the battle that was against me: for there were many…”  Amen. “Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and He shall sustain thee: he shall never suffer the righteous to be moved.” Amen.  “Deliver me from mine enemies O my God: defend me from them that rise up against me.”  Amen! ( This mornings’ Scriptures are from both Psalm 55 and Psalm 59 KJV). 

Remember, today that God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

 

Leave a Reply

