Sunny Days

Don’t you just love to awaken to a bright and beautiful sunny day? There are no clouds; only clear blue skies overhead.  I recall the first time that I ever saw the ocean.  You probably won’t believe this, but I was fourteen-years-old before my parents ventured to Florida.  It seemed that we had driven for hours and hours (back in 1969) when suddenly Daddy announced, “I think that’s the ocean up ahead.”  We were turning onto US 98 and the ocean view was on the left side of the car.  As we continued to drive, the ocean became more and more in our view.  Then, all of a sudden we were crossing a very tall and somewhat scary bridge.  There it was….full view of Earth’s ocean.  What a fantastic sight from the top of the bridge.  Water as far as the eye could see.  Above us, blue skies and bright sunshine.  It was all so incredibly breath-taking that I can still vividly recall that moment in time over forty years later.  Good memories. Sweet memories.  Today, all of us can have tucked away somewhere in our hearts and minds those precious memories of sunny days.  For some of us, we need more sunny days in our lives; days to laugh and days to be playful and days to be reminded that all is not bad on planet Earth even though we are facing an uncertain economy, health issues, and losses.  Thanks be unto God, our Maker, we can still have sunny days within our hearts and lives, no matter our external environment or circumstances.  To me, promises of God found in the Bible can be like sunny days.  Promises made of God that can never be altered or taken away by the storms of life.  My husband has a book in his personal library entitled simply, “Promises.”  Today, I would like to share just a few of those promises (Sunny Days) with you.  Famous author and Holocaust survivor Corrie Ten Boom writes, “Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to an all-knowing God.” Amen.  Malachi 3:6 reads, “For I am the LORD, I change not…” What a great promise of hope that in our ever-changing world our LORD remains forever the same (Sunny Days).  Jeremiah 29:11 tell us, “For I know the plans I have for you; plans for your welfare, not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” (Holman CSB).  (Sunny Days),and one of my favorite promises of God, “When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.” (Isaiah 43:2).  We can compare the Sunny Days of our lives to the sunny, hopeful, and assured promises of God.  Today, I hope you find time in your life to not only enjoy the beautiful outside sunshine but to also find time to enjoy the sunshine of promises found in the Words of God….The Bible.

Remember, God Loves You,

Lin T. Rollins, Author

One thought on “Sunny Days

  1. Linda, I loved your blog “Sunny Days.” I especially needed it today. Sometimes in life you find yourself giving and giving, trying to build others up in the “faith”, and there comes a point you feel like you yourself are beginning to dry up. Your blogs are a “breath of fresh air.” Thank you for giving of yourself to encourage folk like me. Love you sister……Patty

Leave a Reply

