Calamities

This morning, I am strongly reminded of the physical condition that I live with and the reasons that I can no longer teach school and have certain limitations on my daily life.  For the past two days, I have awakened to severe dizziness; this morning even more so. I am lying in my bed propped up on pillows as I type today’s blog on my laptop. To move my head in any given direction causes me to gag.  The headache is bad but so far it’s not over a five-out-of-ten; six or above requiring a call to the doctor. Even though I may be dealing with this physical issue, I am not facing what one of my friends is facing this morning; the funeral of her husband on tomorrow afternoon. They were a sweet couple very much in love and served in several churches in the area with both their time and anointed gifts and talents. He will be missed by loved ones and friends alike, but even more so by his wife of thirty-four years.  I am reminded that in the Book of Psalms, chapter 57, King David prays unto his God stating, “In the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge until these calamities be overpast.”  Using our English dictionary, we find that the word, “calamity” means to experience a disaster, tragedy, catastrophe, misfortune, mishap, or blow to one’s life.  I don’t know about you, but it seems to me as if a whole lot of people today are suffering from calamities in their lives.  The Bible is filled with many illustrations of ancient people suffering down through the years with various calamities within their lives. Sufferings have been with us since the beginning of time. Yet, the very king of Israel firmly stated that he would take refuge ( a place of safety away from all calamities) under the shadow of the wings of Almighty God.  It would seem to me that our only hope in facing the many calamities within our lives would be to take shelter under the same wings of Almighty God as King David.  Since none of us knows what a day may bring forth, then it would only seem right to me for all of us to make the wise decision to live everyday under God’s protection. How do we come to live under God’s daily protection? First, we must accept His pathway to protection through the precious Blood of his only begotten Son, Jesus Christ. We must believe in John 3:16-17, “For God so loved the world that He gave his only begotten Son that whosoever shall believe in him should not (will not and can not) perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world (you and me) through Him might be SAVED (A PLACE OF REFUGE FROM ETERNAL CALAMITIES!) For the Bible clearly teaches us that it is appointed unto men once to die and after this the judgment (Hebrews 9:27).  However, God has provided an escape from the eternal calamity (judgment) of being separated from Him and his Love through the sinless life, death, and resurrection of His Son, Christ Jesus.  Today, I pray that as you face these temporary earthly trials and calamities that you have made the choice and decision to NOT face eternal calamities away from the presence of God. The Bible teaches us that there is a Heaven to gain and a Hades (Hell) to shun (escape ).  Like King David, I have made the Shadow of the Wings of the Almighty God my refuge; my place of comfort and assurance that when all of life’s calamities are over here upon Earth I shall forever rest with the Heavenly Father, Son, and Holy Ghost whom will forever and all eternity be my REFUGE and hiding place ( a place away from ALL calamities). Amen.

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

