A Job Well Done

This morning, when I stepped out onto my back porch the weather was absolutely breathtaking. The sky was a deep, deep blue with a doppler of fluffy white clouds scattered here and there. As I looked around I noticed the deep, hunter greens of the trees and shrubs and the beauty of my colorful flowers spotlighting the back yard creating the perfect backdrop for the sounds of singing birds. It was very serene and majestic moment.  Suddenly, the peaceful silence was interrupted by the sounds coming from the garbage collectors as they went up and down the streets of the neighborhood emptying and replacing the trash cans.  At first, the interruption of my peaceful morning annoyed me.  But, suddenly within my spirit I realized what an important job these workers were doing; not only in my life but the lives of all those around.  I started thinking how we put such emphasis and glory on certain jobs, professions, and professionals and forget the everyday necessities of those who help to make our lives more bearable. I mean, can you imagine for one moment what it would look like if these highly dedicated workers didn’t come around every week to empty the trash? We get all excited about some stranger running a football across the goal-line or some guy hitting a ball over the fence, but fail to recognize the people in our lives who make our daily living more enjoyable. So, I went back into the house, grabbed a piece of copy paper, and wrote a note of “thanks” for a job well done.  Then, I hurried outside to tape the note to the top of the trash container.  Unfortunately, I was too late; the gentlemen had already come and gone. So, I posted the note on the front of my refrigerator to remember to tape it to my trash container next Thursday. I just wanted to say, “Thank You” to a group of people who may not receive a whole lot of thanks for the job they do.  This also reminded me of the scriptures found in the book of James, chapter two.  The Epistle of James writes for us not to have “respect of persons.” He gives the example of someone entering into the congregation with goodly apparel and someone else entering the congregation in vile (poor) raiment. He warns that it is “sin” to have respect for the goodly apparelled individual by giving him or her a good seat upfront, but ignoring the poor individual who is given a cheaper, less visible, seat in the back.  I think we sometimes make this same comparison in people’s jobs and professions.  Actually, the Bible teaches us that “all” work is godly when it is done in the name of the Lord (Colossians 3:17 KJV).  It also teaches us, “And, whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as unto the Lord, and not unto men; knowing that of the Lord ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for ye serve the Lord Christ (Colossians 3:23-24 KJV). So, today let’s be thankful for all those individuals who do a day’s work well done; for we do not know what rewards may be awaiting them when we all enter that Heavenly city, saved by the Grace of Christ Jesus.  Today, is there someone  that you might like to “break away” and say, “thank you” for A Job Well Done? I hope so.

Remember, God Loves You,

Lin T. Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

