OMG..It’s Not About Me!

A few days ago, I bought my three-month-old granddaughter, Erin, an adorable blue-jean skirt with a t-shirt that reads, “OMG, It’s All About Me!”  What a cute and appropriate outfit for a little baby girl… It’s all about me!  But, as we get older things change and we quickly discover that everything around us is not about “me.”  A few years back, pastor and author, Dr. Rick Warren, wrote a best-selling book called, The Purpose Driven Life.  In it he teaches that our main goal in life is to Worship and Honor God; no matter our circumstances.  This is also the first of the Ten Commandments…”Love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, soul, and mind.”  Today, as I was having an unbelievable uplifting time of study in the Word of God, the Spirit lead me into a prayer time where I heard myself saying over and over again, with such intense joy and delight, “Oh My Gosh…Lord, It’s NOT about Me!” I was so thrilled and filled with the Spirit of Joy as I prayed unto God saying, “God, you’re the guiding force in my life.  I give you my eyes, my feet, my voice, my hands, and my ears to hear when you speak to me.”  I was so thrilled as I got up from lying prostrate on the floor praising God that it is All about Him and His Glory, and His Honor…….And, OMG…it’s not about me! This special time with the Lord resulted from a study I am putting together on “The Joys of Water!”  Our word, “water” in Hebrew is “mayyim” which means Life and Refreshing.  On a hot, hot day, how many times has a good, cold, glass of ice water quenched our thirst and refreshed our bodies?! No other drink on planet Earth can refresh us like a simple glass of water…It is life-giving and refreshing.  Today, I wonder how many of us need a glass of refreshment in our daily lives? So many friends and family whom I know and love are facing many difficult hardships right now in their lives.  Without the refreshing of the Word of God and the Spirit of God, we would all perish under the stresses of life.  But, each day we can read the Word of God and become refreshed in the same way that water refreshes our natural bodies.  God sees and knows the bigger picture, the end from the beginning, in our lives. We, as humans, have tunnel-vision; we only see what is right in front of us. As we face things in our lives, it’s good to remember that everything happening around us or even to us in not necessarily all about us! God has a divine plan that may not be revealed until we reach the shores of Heaven and possess our new bodies.  So, as we face these times of trials, tribulations, and stresses, we can rest in the assurance of God’s word that He will safely lead and guide us through the storms of life.  So, even though I am going to enjoy seeing my little three-month old granddaughter wearing her new outfit sporting the words…”OMG It’s All About Me”…I know that as she grows older, she, too, will learn that, “It’s Not About Me….But, It Is ALL About God!”   Psalm 55:16 reads, “As for me, I will call upon God; and the LORD shall save me.”  Today, if you have not already done so, Break Away from your busy schedule to call upon the refreshing, life-sustaining, promises found in the Word of God and remember that even though Hollywood and reality TV tries to bombard our minds that everything around us is about, “me,” …..it’s truly about God!

Remember, God Loves You,

Lin T. Rollins, Author

2 thoughts on “OMG..It’s Not About Me!

  1. How true!! Joyce Meyer has some funny stuff to say about this,too!! Even a kids video she stars in ” What about me?”When we take our eyes off ourselves and look around at others our problems get smaller.Yes, it is important to go to His word for refreshing and renewal!! And then get our mind off ourselves and get busy about His Kingdom work!!

  2. What a great message Linda, You know our body is made up mostly of water, we must have it to survive and the Dr.s tell us to drink 8 to 10 glasses a day! Wouldn’t it be wonderful if everyone knew what that “water” really meant? I love you Thank you for such a beautiful message! Christy

Leave a Reply

