Broken Hearts

Last week, while surfing through the TV channels, I came upon a man describing a situation that had broken his heart.  It wasn’t through a death or a tragic loss; but nonetheless a situation that had brought about pain into his life. He was doing a pretty good job explaining how the pain had made his heart to feel. I could relate. I, too, like many of you, have experienced a broken heart; actually, more than once.  This is not just saying you have a broken heart, but actually feeling the deep, deep cut into the muscle of the heart and actually feeling the hot blood flowing from the vessels of your broken heart throughout your entire body. It causes you to just about go limp and lose all of your body’s physical strength.  You are suddenly thrown into a fog of grief surrounding you like a prison. It’s a feeling and an experience you never forget.  After you have experienced a true broken heart, you can just about measure all of the other painful experiences and situations in your life on a scale of one to ten; ten being the worse broken heart experience thus far of your life. But, how do we know what we have experienced thus far is going to be the worse? We don’t. There are countless situations in our lives that can produce a devastating, broken heart. If we walked around thinking about such matters, we could and would all most likely go crazy or insane. So, how do we pick ourselves up from broken-heart situations? For me, it’s one piece at a time. Then, there are those times when you are picking up the pieces and you are suddenly thrusted into another broken-heart situation. You can’t seem to get your breath; it’s like being pounded by waves after waves at the ocean, one right after another.  But, each time, you learn to adjust; and readjust. For the past two years, I sponsored a Ladies Conference at our church called, “We’re Going to Make It!” Two years ago, I presented the message, “Changing Landscapes.”  As I prepared for the conference, I drew upon many past experiences in my life that changed the course or direction of my life.  Little did I know that a storm was ahead of me that would truly change the landscape of my life; a stroke on August 17, 2010 resulting in my having to retire from teaching school. Everything changed in a minute, a twinkle of the eye. Blessed, I walked out of Emory University Hospital’s stroke unit on my own with only cognitive/spatial memory lapses and vertigo. It could have been far much more worse; even death.  It wasn’t even my first trip to Emory Hospital. Five years earlier, I had suffered a cerebral brain anuerysm and underwent a coiling repair procedure. That time, I was back in the classroom within twenty days. This time, my “landscape” changed completely as I was not able to return to my profession. There are broken heart situations from physical circumstances and there are broken heart situations from relationships and people we once loved and trusted. There are parent/children broken heart situations; husband/wife broken heart situations. We all have them and we all experience them at some point in our lives; some more than others. Recovery from broken heart situations can last any where from a few days, weeks, months, years, or a life time. Sometimes, we need outside help to assist us in our recovery; a friend, a pastor, a counselor. It’s ok to seek out help when dealing with a broken heart. Today, you may be dealing with a broken heart situation. First, let me say, I’m truly sorry for your broken heart. I know how badly they can hurt. I am reminded that even Jesus wept. He, too, experienced the burdens resulting from a broken heart. Imagine him hanging on the Cross of Calvary while people mocked him and shook their heads at him screaming, “He saved others, but he can’t save himself.”  Just like the three days in the tomb before Jesus arose, we may be encased in a tomb ourselves waiting to be lifted high above the pains and hurts of this life.  I am reminded of the song and scripture, “Joy Comes in the Morning.” Oh, yes, my dear friend, Joy will Come and when He comes in the clouds all of our broken hearted situations will be far, far gone from our lives forever. No more pain, no more death, no more disease, no more broken relationships; only Joy, Joy, Unspeakable Joy….Joy is flooding my soul. No more waves beating us down, just the Joys of eternal life with Christ Jesus, our Heavenly Father who will wipe away all the tears from our eyes (Revelation 21:4) Let us all remember that Broken Hearts are earthly and temporal, but the Joys of the Lord are Heavenly and Everlasting. May we all find our much needed strength and hope today in the Joys of our Lord who will NEVER leave nor forsake us.  What a wonderful promise we have in Jesus. 

Remember, God Loves You

Lin T. Rollins, Author

One thought on “Broken Hearts

Leave a Reply

