Rough Days

Some days start off as if you wish you had just slept right through them. Like today, an early morning trip to the supermarket made by my husband, before going to church, resulted in a ridiculous, yet costly, car accident; totally his fault.  Thankfully, no one was hurt, but the vehicle is in pretty bad shape.  Dollar marks from the looming increased auto-insurance premiums danced through my head like visions of cannon balls dropping in a wading pool pretty much all day. Ouch! Then, added disappointments of various degrees and natures clouded the rest of the afternoon.  Nonetheless, not all was bad; I did get to see two of our adult daugthers and their families for a Father’s Day visit.  Grilled out hamburgers and hot dogs for a tasty lunch. But, when everyone left to return to their own homes, there was the wrecked vehicle sitting as a monument in the driveway reminding everyone of the day’s aggrevating beginning. What do you do with days like today? Chunk them? Don’t we wish. Perhaps, enjoy and savor the good parts and try to “forget” the eyesore sitting in the driveway?  Truthfully, you deal with it. That’s right; you simply deal with it by taking stock and inventory of what’s important and what’s not. Don’t get me wrong, the dread of looming higher premiums aren’t something to throw to the curb with a smile on your face, but it’s a whole lot better than being told a loved one you have has cancer, or you and your spouse just loss your jobs, or you’re walking behind the casket of a loved one as he or she travels to their final resting place here on earth. No, you have to be thankful that it was just an accident and no one was hurt.  You also have to show mercy and forgiveness; after all no one is perfect; not even our mates! You have to be grateful for the two daughters and their families who took of their time to drive across town to sit down and eat a gracious meal together. Yep; you look for the good and take a deep breath that it wasn’t anything worse.  Then, you pray for discernment and wisdom to fix the parts of the day that were troublesome and worrisome; if that is possible.  After all; everything can’t be fixed the way we might like…that’s life….for better or worse. Simply put, some days are better than others. But, all days have something in them to be grateful.  And, today I am grateful for my life, my family, my church, my Lord, and the many blessings heading my way; including getting the wrecked vehicle fixed and back on the road again! Smile…. 

Remember, God Loves You,

Lin T. Rollins, Author

3 thoughts on “Rough Days

  1. Well said, my friend. We all can relate to those days and yet remember to be thankful for the good of the day. Enjoy reading your blogs.

  2. And, today I am grateful for my life, my family, my church, my Lord, and the many blessings(Richard) heading my way; including getting the wrecked vehicle fixed and back on the road again! Smile

Leave a Reply

