It’s Never Too Late

Growing up as an only child, I had plenty of time on my hands to play school teacher with my stuffed animals. I often felt I had the smartest stuffed animals in town. They were also very disciplined. I had a yard-stick and when they misbehaved, I would “smack” them over the head. It was a well managed classroom.  Actually becoming a certified public school teacher was several decades later; I turned forty years old the month I started to college for my Bachelors degree in middle-grades education.  While going to college, I worked a full time job as a high school administrative secretary and kept up with my duties as a pastor’s wife. During my four years in college, I coordinated the weddings of three daughters and saw the births of my first three grandchildren. It was a very busy time in my life filled with both challenges and accomplishments. When graduation day finally arrived, I was very humbled by the pomp and circumstance of it all and very eager to start my first teaching assignment. As I entered the classroom for the first time to set up for the school year, I was reminded of my childhood days playing school teacher with my stuffed animals. This time, my students would be human beings possessing various strengths, weaknesses, needs, and personalities. But, I looked forward to the challenge. I was also reminded that God works in his own time and in his own ways. Our thoughts are not his thoughts and our ways are not his ways. But, when we allow him to lead and guide our lives it is possible that the things that we may have desired for many years can and will come to pass. Today, if you still have a desire to accomplish a certain goal in your life, don’t give up because it is taking too long. Timing is everything and God can open doors that you could have never imagined. Break Away from feeling it is too late.  It takes patience, courage, determination, and hard work to fulfill dreams; they typically do not come overnight. Remember, Trust in the LORD with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and He shall direct thy paths. (Proverbs 3:5-6 KJV).

Remember, God loves you,

Lin T. Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

